Unlimited Taco Extravaganza

So yesterday my friends and I had a Sunday Funday family dinner compliments of a recent Thrillist deal. For $24 we got unlimited tacos, frozen margs, and those super tiny baby Coronos at Vamos, a Mexican restraurant right around the corner from  my apt. As I was gorging my face with lamb, pork, steak and fried fish tacos (not all on one torilla, mind you) I started thinking about what would be the ultimate taco? It’s tough because I’m a pretty picky eater and have a shit ton of food allergies…but below are tacos I think would make for a serious party in my mouth (TWSS):

Braised Short Rib Taco

I love BBQ…and I love Mexican…so why not marry the two together for the ultimate taco extravaganza? I could also get down with a smoked brisket taco. Anything smokey, barbeque-y and Mexican and I’m in.

The Nacho Taco

Have you ever put chips on your sandwich? Totally changes it and makes it go from ordinary to extraordinary, right? Well this would be the same shit…only in taco form. That total mix of soft and crunchy with all the fixings you want and expect from a plate of nachos — tortilla chips (or Nacho Cheesier Doritos), cheese, jalapenos, guacamole, sour cream, perhaps some ground beef if you’re feeling real dangerous.

The Cheeseburger Taco

Yes, yes, and yes. I said it. I want a taco with some Grade A beef, pickles, shaved cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, a smidge of red onion and some spicy mustard. I mean, sometimes a hamburger bun takes away from the overall burger — it’s overwhelming and can overshadow the patty. But a good corn tortilla? Something tells me that would only enhance it. Just saying…

I know MMango’s going to come back with a “why didn’t you suggest a tuna fish taco with mayo and pickles ?” because as a kid I was obsessed with tuna fish. Whatever. I loved that shit and my parents didn’t have to worry about teen pregancy cause boys were terrified of me and my tuna breath.

But I throw it back to you: what would your ultimate taco consist of? Would be be an American classic Mexified? Perhaps something totally unexpected? Let me have it. I want to hear your food fantasies.

 

MMango: Why didn’t you suggest a tuna fish taco with mayo and pickles ? No, but seriously, Buffalo Chicken Taco. When I was a kid I was obsessed with buffalo chicken… and as a teenager… and as an adult… and still to this day – yes I had a buffalo chicken wrap for dinner on Saturday and Sunday. Think about it: Buffalo Chicken, lettuce, tomato, and crumbled blue cheese. Party in your mouth!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

