Does crying at the end of Band of Brothers make me less of a man?

So I just finished the epic mini-series Band of Brothers last night. Yes I know 10 years late, but a series like that only gets better with time. For those who still don’t know Band of Brothers is the story of Easy Company of the US Army 101st Airborne division and their journey during WW2 from Normandy, to the Battle of the Bulge, to discovering concentration camps to the end of the war.

Anyhew, the final two episodes of the series were gut wrenching. As I alluded to above, in these two episodes, the soldiers discover concentration camps for the 1st time in history and then their realization that the war is over and they’ll be going home to see their families after years of being away. So I could sit here all day and talk about the entire series, but I can’t lie that these two episodes made me well up and the lower lip tremble (for the record, tears never came down my face). So my question to you – for most people I’m assuming you’ve already seen this series – Is it okay that this war drama made me sorta cry?? Do I have to go watch a Steven Segal movie right now to get back on track? I think it’s acceptable, but I can’t be sure.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Does crying at the end of Band of Brothers make me less of a man?

  1. J Riley Johnson says:

    No, crying at the end of Band of Brothers confirms you are a man. Men can cry while watching the following:

    Band of Brothers
    Midway (old, but who cares)
    The Superbowl or World Series (note: crying while watching the NBA is unacceptable under any circumstances)
    Videos of your kids (playing sports of any kind)
    Saving Private Ryan (the litmus test for being a man)

    This is a partial list; I should write a blog that is more inclusive.

    By the way, I just finished watching Band of Brothers about six months ago. You’re absolutely right; the final two installments were the most powerful. That’s saying something, since I believe the entire series was stellar.

    And, hey, it’s okay to go watch a Steven Segal movie – just make it an old one.

Leave a Reply

