Happy National Peanut Butter & Jelly Day

 

I have no idea how I missed this when I was packing my lunch this morning, but today is national peanut butter and jelly day.

Yes, you read that correctly. National PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY DAY.

As a self proclaimed expert on PB & J (MMango and I did host a PBR, PB & J, and PJ party), I’m not sure how I missed it but that doesn’t mean I won’t be celebrating. While I can’t take back the veggie burger that’s currently in the work fridge, I have already decided that I’m going to make PB & J pancakes for dinner tonight.

I’ve posted a recipe below if you’re feeling real motivated, but you can also just add a healthy dollop of peanut butter (I recommend Teddie because it’s made in Everett, MA) to your standard pancake/waffle mix and top with your favorite jelly/preserve (I recommend raspberry preserve…cause it’s the tits).

ENJOY and remember the celebrate responsibly…and by responsibly, I mean for you to stuff your face positively full until you enter a joyous food coma that you don’t ever wake from, leaving you permanently in PB & J heaven. Too much?

 

 

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups skim milk
  • 2 egg, lightly beaten
  • 3 tablespoons natural peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • cooking spray
  • 1/4 cup strawberry jam

Directions

  1. Combine oats, flour, baking soda, sugar, and salt in a large bowl. Set bowl aside. In a separate bowl, whisk together the skim milk, eggs, peanut butter, and melted butter. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and stir in the wet ingredients, being careful not to over mix the batter.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat, and coat with cooking spray. Pour 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto the skillet, and cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip with a spatula, and cook until browned on the other side, about 2 minutes per side. Serve with strawberry jam.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

